Why I Love Snow

This week in Seattle, it snowed.  In Connecticut, the snow would’ve caused delays; in Seattle, it shut down the city.  Even with plows on the road, most businesses aren’t open today.  Heck, even the library is closed!

Before I laugh at Seattle’s lack of experience with snowfall (which includes not plowing residential streets), I have to say that a decent amount of snow fell today. If I knew of a hill around here and had a sled, today would be a great day for sledding.  In college, the lack of a sled would not have been a problem, as food trays and plastic bags wrapped around our bodies substituted rather nicely….until you went over that snow bump that your “friends” put in the middle of the hill to add some “excitement” to the experience.

Growing up in Connecticut, I always welcomed snow, so long as I didn’t have to shovel or snow blow it. I remember snowball fights, snow forts, snowmen, snow angels, sledding, and hot chocolate.  Even when I reached an age where I was expected to help out with the shoveling, there was still the hot chocolate, drunk by the coal stove.

In Seattle, it doesn’t snow often.  It rains.  Cold rain, accompanied by wind. Rain makes everything dark and gloomy, while snow illuminates the ground and sky.  For me, winter without snow just doesn’t feel right.  Snow makes the cold bearable.

It’s funny.  While I always enjoy seeing snow, I enjoyed it less when I had to clear it off my parents’ driveway.  It became easier with the snow blower, but even then, my dad would be the one to wake up early and snow blow it before work; I would only be responsible for it if an early start time were not included.  Here in Seattle, freed from that responsibility, I can once again fully enjoy the sight of snow, welcoming it as I did when young.

Author: Greg Salvatore

Writer. Voice Actor. Humanist. Feminist.

1 thought on “Why I Love Snow”

  1. I was sitting here wondering why I knew that it rained so much in Seattle; then, I remembered! The movie Sleepless in Seattle! (The appropriate quote: “It rains nine months of the year in Seattle!”)
    I am envious. It doesn’t snow much in our part of VA and we have yet to see any snow. I totally agree that snow makes the cold bearable! Otherwise you just have to sit, bundled-up and miserable, staring at the naked outdoors.

Leave a Reply

