Conductor Movies

On Twitter yesterday, I had a lot of fun making up titles for conductor movies, so I thought I’d share them with you here (in the order I posted them in):

Bruno Walter, Arturo Toscanini, Erich Kleiber, Otto Klemperer, and Wilhelm Furtwangler (1929, Berlin)

On Twitter yesterday, I had a lot of fun making up titles for conductor movies, so I thought I’d share them with you here (in the order I posted them in):

Weekend at Bernstein’s

The Sound of Menuhin (yes, he conducted, too)

Meet the Walters

Joe vs. the Furtwangler

My Cousin Lenny

The Umbrellas of Monteux

Louder than a Bohm

The Santa Klaus (Tennstedt)

Death to Solti

The Beechams of Agnes

Boult

Bedknobs and Bohmsticks

Abbado Boy

Silent Muti

Blazing Rattle

Mary Pappano

Crouching Kleiber, Hidden Dragon

Muti on the Bounty

Mitropoulos Burning

Goodbye, Mr. Krips

Krauss-feratu

Toscanini in St. Louis

Any conductors you don’t know in that bunch?  Any titles whose original movie titles you can’t guess?  Any conductor movies you want to share?  Leave a comment 🙂

2 thoughts on “Conductor Movies”

  1. There is a film called The Concert.

    I don’t know if you know it, but the conductor is Russian/Romanian.

    And they go to Paris.

    It has a whole lot of stuff about the daughter being a singer/soprano.

    The interaction between the players is just magic.

    The titles: I think I know most of them.

    1. Yes, I’ve heard of that film, but missed two opportunities to see it in theaters (since I can’t see them all). Thanks for reminding me, as I’ll be sure to try and track it down.

Leave a Reply

