Update on the Novel 4

Dickens's Dream

Hard to believe that this is only my fourth update concerning my novel.  Also hard to believe how long the gap between when I wrote my last update and this one is.

Since that update, much has happened, but as far as the novel is concerned, I have geared up my final push to get the damn thing written.  As I stated back in my first update, I originally had the idea for this novel back in sixth grade, wrote outlines for it in high school and again in college, and began writing it in 2002, breaking off the writing in 2004 or 2005, and restarting in 2007, after reading On Writing while in Japan.  Or was it 2006?  Anyway, the “new” rough draft was finished several months after I returned stateside, in 2008.

Since then, it’s been a battle.  Part One is good enough to pass off to my first readers, unless something freaky happens in Part Two that undermines something I tried to set up in Part One.  Part Two, however, is a bit of a nightmare, as I have to get rid of plot points that don’t work, or that seem an incredible stretch for the characters involved.  Unfortunately, that may involve most of the climax, unless I can figure out a plausible way for a child to…well, don’t want to spoil the surprise. 😛  And since I’ve been busy procrastinating job hunting on the Internet, I haven’t dedicated enough time to the novel the past two weeks, though I did stay up until one a.m. revising poems on Monday.  I guess that counts for something.

I’m sure I’ll figure out the ending.  In the meantime, I’ve started a task which will help me write the novel which will follow this one, and the short stories that I have in mind in the interim.  And then comes incorporating my first readers’ advice into the novel, writing query letters, and finding an agent.  If I find a good one, he or she will find a publisher.  If the publisher is a good one, he or she will ask for revisions.  And then, a year or more may pass until the book actually comes out.

But first, I have to revise my novel until everything works, or until I’m sick of the whole damn thing.  Then I will know that it’s ready.

Author: Greg Salvatore

Author. Voice Actor. Humanist. Feminist.

7 thoughts on “Update on the Novel 4”

  1. Interesting to share the processes of parturition…

    Greg: Parturition: the action or process of giving birth to offspring (from the Merriam Webster Dictionary). Because I had no idea what that word meant. 😉 And let me tell you, there be labor pains. Oh yes!

    1. It’s been a rough few weeks, so I wouldn’t expect anything soon. 😦 So hard to be true to oneself AND look for a job AND write a novel AND not really have anyone to hang out with in order to fuel my creativity (though I’m remedying that this weekend).

      Speaking of novels, when can I expect a nice surprise in MY inbox? 😉

      1. Ooh, that’s a tricky one.
        With my thesis and everything, I probably won’t be able to work on my novel until June at the earliest. And even then, there’s a ton of work to be done. So I guess the answer would be “not any time soon” 🙂

Leave a Reply

