Notes from the Diary of a Literary Rebel, Part 2

More posts from my first blog. The first one perfectly captures my frustration at losing a post I was working on, while the second one is a slightly modified version of what I wanted to post in the first place (kind of a precursor to my famous quotes post). Except for a corrected spelling error, the posts have not been altered. 🙂

More posts from my first blog.  The first one perfectly captures my frustration at losing a post I was working on, while the second one is a slightly modified version of what I wanted to post in the first place (kind of a precursor to my famous quotes post).  Except for a corrected spelling error, the posts have not been altered. 🙂


April 3, 2008 – Thursday


Current mood:  pissed off

Thank you myspace for allowing me to log out of another window, thereby disabling my means of posting a blog. For, when I hit the preview and post button, it said I had to be logged in to do that, but when I logged in, no blog. So, &%%$’$%&%” you, myspace!!!! And your emoticons don’t work, either.


April 4, 2008 – Friday


Current mood:  contemplative

Okay, so this is a slightly altered version of what I was going to post before.  This is a more random assortment of thoughts I have written down since May of 2006 than my first attempt was.  I can give you exact dates of composition, but I’d prefer to just write them here in chronological order.  If tons of people clamor for the inclusion of dates, then I’ll include them later.

Some of the earlier ones dealing with relationships were heavily influenced by a book I was reading at the time, called Snow in Summer.  It was written by a Buddhist monk named Sayadaw U. Jotika and translated into English.  I’d like to include a later blog of his quotes, which I wrote down, as he says many wise things in that book.  But, for now, here are my originals.  Enjoy!

Confidence comes from knowing what you want out of life and knowing how to get it.

We all want to be loved and we all want to be understood, but we must learn to love ourselves and understand ourselves.  Only then will others do the same, except family, which loves unconditionally.

When eyes meet and you feel that spark, that burst of energy inside, it’s the result of two souls communicating across the centuries.

In order to understand people, you must look at their actions through their eyes, not your own.

Fiction is the reality we want to have.

Man should not try to end suffering, which is impossible, but instead learn to live with it.  Our times want no suffering, and so are ill-prepared to deal with it in its inevitability.

To be a foreigner is to be alone always.*

Tradition based on ignorance should have no future.

I think men are too cynical about love, and women too fantastical.  Both should be avoided.

We are the keepers of our own prisons.

Love is sexless.

The problem with America is that too many people say “I, me”; the problem with Japan is not enough people say “I, me.”

People become less fun and more interesting as they age.

Feel free to comment.  I love a good philosophical debate!

*[Author’s Note: To be a foreigner is to always be alone sounds better, but that wasn’t what I wrote in the original post.  Still, that’s the only quote I would change.]

Author: Greg Salvatore

Writer. Voice Actor. Humanist. Feminist.

4 thoughts on “Notes from the Diary of a Literary Rebel, Part 2”

  1. Definitely can relate to the first post. Too many times I have written long emails or comments only to have the site mess up and erase everything. >:-O

    And I really like your philosiphical musings! They are so very true…

  2. Confidence comes from knowing what you want out of life and knowing how to get it.

    Confidence comes from confidence, confidence in one’s own potential. I would paraphrase this as: My life is very important and I’m not gonna be defeated by anything. I’ll discover my way and walk it all the way.

    Inmates in concentration camps drew butterflies on the wall. This sentence is from Victor Frankl;

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Man's_Search_for_Meaning

    LD: Thanks for that. Readers, for some truly inspiring quotes, click on the link.

Leave a Reply

