My To-Do List

Since I’ve shared with all of you some of my literary dreams, I thought I’d share with you some other dreams that I have.

I should’ve started on this list long ago, since I can’t remember everything unless I write it down (if I don’t write it down, I only remember most of it).  I refuse to call it a bucket list, since making a bucket list is trendy right now, and I refuse to do things just because they are trendy.  I even waited several years before checking out the Harry Potter books, and then only because my brother had read them and said that they were really good.

This is not the complete list, nor do I feel it is complete now.  As I said, I’m sharing some of my other dreams with you, not all.  They do, however, tend to fall into one of several categories.

In no particular order:

TRAVEL

1.) Visit every continent (North America,  South America,  Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, Antarctica)

2.) Visit Eastern Europe (Slovakian countries).

3.) Visit mainland Asia.

4.) Take a long trip by boat.

5.) Do Haggis Tour in Scotland with my brother.

6.) Travel cross-country across the U.S.

7.) Visit all 50 states.

ARTS AND CULTURE

1.) Write a symphony.

2.) Conduct an opera.

3.) Read all of the seminal works of the Western Canon.

4.) Read all of the seminal works of the Eastern Canon.

5.) Memorize several poems by heart.

6.) Study the history of civilizations and cultures.

PEOPLE I’D LIKE TO MEET

1.) Kate Winslet

2.) Roger Ebert

3.) Aung San Suu Kyi

4.) The Far-Flung Correspondents (particularly Wael and Grace) 🙂

5.) Wei Tang

6.) Zhang Ziyi

TESTS OF ENDURANCE

1.) Climb Mt. Fuji.

2.) Work on a farm (for a month).

3.) Live off of the land (for a couple of weeks).

LANGUAGES

1.) Become fluent in Japanese and French.

2.) Learn sign language.

3.) Learn Korean (written and spoken).

PLACES TO SEE (SIMILAR TO TRAVEL)

1.) See the Great Wall of China.

2.) Visit Bruce Lee’s grave (here in Seattle).

3.) See a Wimbledon match live.

LONG-TERM PROJECTS

1.) Write one poem a day for a year.

2.) Organize all of my school notes, notebooks, and folders.

3.) Prepare my novel for publication by the end of this year.

Do any of you have similar lists, or are there things you’d like to do before it’s too late?  Feel free to share in the comments section 🙂

Author: Greg Salvatore

Writer. Voice Actor. Humanist. Feminist.

6 thoughts on “My To-Do List”

  1. Your literary dream occupies the last place in the list? In any case none of them seems to require the Alladin Lamp !

    LD: Last, but certainly not least. 😉

  2. What is a Haggis Tour? I know what haggis is… and a whole tour of that does NOT sound pleasant. 😉
    Ah, moi aussi… je veux etre… oh snap, I have no idea how to say this. Anyhow, I want to be fluent in French too. 🙂

    LD: I think you want to say, “Je veux parler francais parfaitement aussi.” 🙂

    And here’s the website for haggis tours, renamed haggis adventures (and no, it’s not a whole tour about haggis):http://www.haggisadventures.com/Scotland

  3. Nice list.

    I agree with you, I want to read the essentials of the canons of both Eastern and Western Lit.

    I want to meet Penelope Cruz, Apichatpong Weerasethakul, Banksy, Sean Penn, Jeff Tweedy, Catherine Keener, Charlie Kaufman, Steve McQueen (as in the director of “Hunger”), Mathieu Almaric, Julian Casablancas, Jacques Audiard, and, of course, Roger Ebert. Though I’m up for any famous people… 🙂

    I want to travel to Cannes in France, Asia, Africa, and to South America.

    I’d also like to write a screenplay or play, compose an album (or just even a song), direct a successful film and build a following, and learn Spanish and Latin (as well as any other languages).

    LD: I’ve been to Cannes, though not to the film festival. If you do go for the festival (and I hope someday that you do), beware of pickpockets. They are LEGION in that city.

  4. Justement! Merci beaucoup. 🙂

    Haha, okay, thanks for the link! I would love to go to Scotland too… ever since I watched Monarch of the Glen. I even can do a semi-good Scottish accent! 😀

  5. I also fought jumping on the Harry Potter bandwagon until Ryan convinced me to read them.

    LD: And I got him on The Lord of the Rings and Wheel of Time bandwagons.

Leave a Reply

